New Year, Better Me

1/14

I understand the frustration of those that have tired of hearing others say “New Year, New Me”. It can become a bit redundant. We get it, you have a New Years resolution, congratulations. 

Most people give up on their resolutions by the end of January, and that’s understandable. It’s hard to make a lifestyle change, especially if you haven’t prepared yourself. It can be discouraging to work hard and not see the immediate results you’re looking for. 

Because of that, I’ve begun thinking about resolutions as not so much a shift, but an enhancement. I don’t want to make a change in my life, I just want to do something in my life better. For example, instead of my resolution being, “I’m gonna start working out in 2017”, it’s “I am going to exercise more regularly than what I do now”. It’s a slight change, but instead of creating a new habit, I’m saying that I will make a habit I already have more regular. It’s not that I have massive changes I want to make, I just have general goals that I’d like to accomplish. Quite a few, actually.

I’d like to keep up with this blog better. If you’ll notice, I haven’t posted since November. Maybe you could say I was emotionally drained, post-election, but I should be better now.

I’d like to take more photos. Of everything, really. I feel like I’ve stopped taking pictures these past few months, maybe because there’s nothing beautiful outside to take pictures of, just snow and mud. But it’s something I miss doing, and I should start doing something about it. 

I’d like to play more golf this year. Perhaps since I won’t have the push of competition to stress me out, I can just enjoy my time on the course and improve at my own pace. 

And finally, of course I want to exercise more. That’s the age-old resolution, but who wouldn’t? There is nothing wrong with getting in better shape than you already are, and I feel like it’s time for me. I’ve always brushed away physical activity and put it to the side, but I’m approaching the time in my life where I want to be in the best physical shape I can be, and I’m not there yet.

Perhaps in January of 2018, I’ll update you on how my resolutions went. But for now, good luck with your own, and I hope your 2017 is two-thousand and seventeen times better than your 2016.

Leave a Reply

